My dearest technology

technology in a letter format

A little different format to get across the power, use, benefits, limitations and possibly the future of technology. Enjoy!

Dear technology,

You are always in my life, from a text message on my mobile to showing the news on a television, you are there. But I have noticed that you put up some benefits and limitations in everyone’s lives, let me explain.

Technology and disability

A smartphone could allow a blind user to send a text message by making use of your voice control, for example. For a deaf user you allow text to be sent to everyone, know matter what a person’s hearing status is.

Technology you frighten me

Technology, I sometimes get a little caught up on your advancements. If you allow users who are techie (technological gifted) to pretty much do anything they want, such as the hacking of CEO Mark Z’s Facebook account last year, what are my rights online?

You have created one of the world’s biggest groups (anonymous) to stand together in the digital world to fight for everyone’s rights, wants and openness. But you have made me, a human, to think like a computer. I cannot use “password” as a password, I have to use capital letters, digits and symbols now that you are in my life. And even at that, I don’t feel totally safe.

Today I read another news article about you and sound. It was outlining that you might implement the exchange of photos and other things from one mobile to another just by using a chirping sound. This chirp only works if their is a certain app on my mobile, but it could be really useful to get my concert tickets really quickly when I am waiting at the gates to see one of my favourite bands.

Technology I often wonder what the future holds. Will you make humans electronic? If countries are starting to make their citizens have a chip in their passports will they suggest that we all use scanners, or have a chip in our finger to prove who we really are and what we have been up to? I sometimes don’t know what to think about you, technology. My mind can race quickly to figure out what you are going to do next.

You excite me

While I often find the future daunting, you excite me. For example, that Animal Systems firm developed chirps into digital sounds which can be read and written to other electronic devices. Who would have thought that would have happened today? Well not me ten years ago!

Thanks for removing barriers to those who have physical and mental problems, getting the most technological gifted people to join in a unit call anonymous and for making my mind run really quickly as I think about what the next big thing might be.

Yours sincerely,

A proud technology user

Leave a Reply

