Taboo: Life and death

Most of us do not talk about life everyday, let alone death, but what do these concepts have in common?

Living life is key

If you are reading this post you are, simply, living. Whenever we experience death we will not be able to have a chat to someone who is living.

  • Every single person on this amazing planet has had one of the greatest gifts — life itself is an amazing gift.
  • Use the gift of life to its full potential.
  • It’s good to talk about death but try not to let it take over your life.
  • Death will happen to every one of us. That’s a certainty. For this reason it is important to live and enjoy life whilst you have it.
Life and death picture.

Life and death picture. Source.

Healthy, long life

There are some really easy things you can do to your everyday life to allow you to live a healthier, happier and longer life. Changing your diet to eat more wholefoods, for instance, will allow your amazing body to be rewarded or going for 30 minute walks in the evenings will extend your life. Just like life can be hard at times these changes are not always easy to implement. For example, if you’re having a bad day a healthy home cooked meal and a long walk may be down your list but it is at these times whenever you have to work harder to actually live life.

Walking itself is a good way to reflect on life. It’s free, like life itself, and it gives you time to retune with your body. Listen to your breathing. Look at nature as you walk. Living in the moment actually helps life itself.

Posted by Gerald Murphy

Reference

  1. Life experience
6 thoughts on “Taboo: Life and death

  1. One’s outlook and frame of mind has a lot to do with longevity. Quality will include a moderation of so many things. Enjoy family and friends. At times, a pint of lager, and sing along with the choir.
    In my life, the number of human deceased that I’ve handled over the years, will number in the thousands, literally. Aside from wearing a uniform, I also grew up around my grandfather’s business which was a funeral establishment, since the ripe old age of four.
    So, what did, I learn..? Death, is a natural part of Life. Try not to hasten the inevitable. When old people die, be saddened by their not being with you anymore on this earth but, be happy that perhaps they did enjoy life. Maybe they were blessed with children and grand children. Some, have further descending generations. When it’s a young life, then that, is the tragedy.
    I learned that war, is usually caused by a bastard leadership, of governments. Too much leads up to violence, that in most situations, those that are wounded, or killed, wanted no part of the politics that contributed to a state of active warfare.
    I learned that crime is a result of not correcting bad behavior early. As the late J. Edgar Hoover, Director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, in the United States, once said, and I will paraphrase, “You begin correcting behavior in the high chair, not the electric chair.”
    I also learned, that stress will surely reduce the quality of one’s life, and reduce the duration of life. I used to take in art exhibits and photography exhibits. I would listen, for the sound of leaves rustling in a gentle breeze. I would listen to ocean waves. I also rode my Harley-Davidson, and not in an aggressive manner, but finding that zone of rhythm akin to classical music where timing and balance gathered in perfect proportions. Any fool can ride fast. A motorcycle is like a gyroscope. The real talent and skills are at the low speeds.
    I learned that Solitude, is a blessing to myself.

    • Thanks Brittius. Your comments are always a great read — they simply ooze experience.
      Hoover’s remark is very prominent. It’s sad that people who represent society are, sometimes, hot-headed.
      Keep up natures slow driving on you Harley-Davidson. Nothing man made will be as good as fallen leaves and ocean waves.
      Gerald

  2. I’ve been thinking a lot about life, and a little bit about death recently. Because I’m now in a really good place emotionally, it’s quite scary to look back and to remember how close I came to giving up on on life. Life is precious, we should live each day to our full potential, and just enjoy it.
    I too find walking is a great way to reduce stress. I always feel peaceful and relaxed after a long walk in the mountains. Absolutely right re how to be healthy! It’s not rocket science is it?
    Jane x

    • Thanks a lot, janeykate. I am not only sorry to hear that you once were not in a great place but I’m thankful to you for sharing that with me on this blog.
      Some of the most effective things in life are the simple ones — forget the rocket science.
      With continued happiness, Gerald.
      See you around.

      • Thanks Gerald! You may not realise this, but when I was at my lowest point, and started writing this blog, you were one of the first people to read it and comment. You wrote some words of sympathy and compassion, and it helped enormously. At the time, I couldn’t tell my family and friends how bad I was feeling, but it was so nice that someone I didn’t know had taken the time to read my blog, and write a comment. It helped me feel less alone, so thank you so much for that! We should never forget that a small act of kindness can mean a lot to someone who is having a hard time.
        Jane x

      • Jane that message means the world to me — thanks for that right back at you. I’m glad life is better for you today. Luckily enough yesterday is in the past so look at it as life experience. It will help you enjoy today even more. See you around, Gerald, fellow blogger.

Leave a Reply

